Copthorne Hotel Bay of Islands reviews verified by reevooReevoo

197 reviews in the past 18 months

Reviews from:Sort by:
(7.5 out of 10)
Location
9.0
Cleanliness
7.9
Sleep quality
7.7
Service
7.7
Value for money
7.6
Overall rating
7.5
Scores 7.5 out of 10 based on 197 reviews
Show more score details
Reviews and scores from the last 18 months.
(10 out of 10)

Dawn

PaihiatuaLeisure
+
Bed is absolute bliss
Reviewer left no comment
Confirmed guest:19 July 2017
Published on:20 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bernard

Leisure
+
location
view
could have been in Musket cove
Reviewer left no comment
Confirmed guest:06 July 2017
Published on:10 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Steve

HobsonvilleLeisure
+
An excellent mid winter package deal. Fabulous location. Very good breakfast and a similarly good, hearty evening meal. We much appreciated the upgrade to a great room (121) on the ground floor with its outlook and almost 'separate' kitchenette/bathroom.
Rather a soft bed. Inevitably, given its age, the hotel is getting a little tired and Waitangi is NOT the winterless north! The corridors, passageways and some of the main reception areas were not well heated (it at all), and were cold!
Confirmed guest:02 July 2017
Published on:07 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Alec

St Albans, UKLeisure
+
Magnificent views from seaview rooms.

Beautiful gardens surrounding the hotel.

Nice restaurant - very pleasant service staff. Especially Richard. He should get a pay rise!!
No wifi in rooms - not acceptable in the 21st century.

Totally inadequate heater in bedroom - quite cold in June

No heating at all in bathroom - very cold in June

Requested a quiet room. We ended up above a part of the hotel that was being refurbished and the builders started wrecking outside at 7.45am !!

The plug in the bathroom sink did not fit so the basin was unable to hold water. Housekeeping. What housekeeping??

Buffet breakfast for about 15 people. A lot of cooked food would have gone to waste. It would have make more sense to cook individual breakfasts.
Confirmed guest:13 June 2017
Published on:20 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Alison

+
Spa pool is wonderful.
Breakfasts are great - generous and delicious.
The meal on Saturday night was poor. We had undercooked vegetables - no sauce - long wait between courses - & poor info regarding gluten-free alternatives.

Sid (who took the booking via phone & directed me to a website) did not explain that I wasn't entitled to the discount & mis-informed me about the availability of the upstairs room which I requested. I feel really "ripped off". The small discount (free coffees) was not enough to compensate.
Confirmed guest:12 June 2017
Published on:20 June 2017